Crisafulli Designated Next Speaker Today

Rep. Steve Crisafulli will be formally named  speaker-designate in a ceremony this afternoon.  Crisafulli, of Merritt Island, was elected after the November election by his colleagues as speaker-in-waiting for the 2014-2016 term, following current speaker Will Weatherford.

The speaker had been expected to be Chris Dorworth, but he lost his bid for re-election unexpectedly in November, forcing the election in which Crisafulli was chosen. Crisafulli was elected to the House in 2008.  The ceremony is at 2 p.m., in the House Chamber.

The News Service of Florida